Monday, December 07, 2009

British indie awards salute Michael Cain and Danel Day-Lewis

In an upbeat event, the British Independent Film Awards announced its 2009 winners on December 6 in London. Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, BIFA co-directors say: "No single film dominates the Awards this year, reminding us of the high quality and variety of talent on offer in the UK. And if we can be celebrating so much good work in a year that is said to be difficult, there is a lot to shout about."

"Moon", the film by Duncan Jones (who also picked up the best debut director award), was awarded the best British independent film. Best screenplay went to "In the Loop", by Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche.

The screenplay award was very tight, as "In the Loop" was up against "An Education" (Nick Hornby), "Fish Tank" (Andrea Arnold), "Moon"(Nathan Parker) and "Nowhere Boy" (Matt Greenhalgh).

Sir Michael Caine and Daniel Day-Lewis both gave impassioned acceptance speeches for their respective acting awards.

For the full list of winners, visit BIFA.

No comments: