Sunday, December 08, 2013

François Ozon wins screenwriring award for Dans la Maison

French writer/director François Ozon won the scriptwriting award at the 2013 European Film Awards, held in Berlin December 7 2013.

Ozon, the director of "Potiche", "La Piscine" and the recent "Jeune et jolie", was representing "Dans la maison/In the House", starring Fabrice Luchini and Kristin Scott Thomas (photo).

The main winner at the event, however was the remarkable "La Grande Bellezza/The Great Beauty", which won awards for the Best Film, Best Actor (Toni Servillo), Best Director (Paolo Sorrentino) and Best Editor (Cristiano Travaglioli).

The full list of winners can be found at the EFA website.

Monday, January 07, 2013

Two German co-productions on OSCAR short list

The German co-productions AMOUR (LIEBE) by Michael Haneke (FR/AT/DE, X-Filme Creative Pool) and A ROYAL AFFAIR (DIE KÖNIGIN UND DER LEIBARZT) by Nikolaj
Arcel (DK/SE/CZ/DE, Zentropa Entertainment Berlin) are on the short list of the final nine films for the 85th Oscar® in the category for the Best Foreign Language Feature Film. This was announced by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) on 21 December. AMOUR is in the Oscar race for Austria and A ROYAL AFFAIR for Denmark.

On 10 January, 2013, the Academy will select five films from the nine of the short list, and these titles will be part of the final selection competing for the OSCAR in this category. Altogether, 71 countries submitted their films.

Michael Haneke's Film AMOUR received awards at the beginning of December at the European Film Awards as Best Film, Best Direction as well as Best Lead Actress and Best Lead Actor. AMOUR was released in American cinemas by Sony Pictures Classics on 21 December, 2012.

A ROYAL AFFAIR won two Silver Bears at the 2012 Berlinale.

The OSCAR awards ceremony takes place on 24 February, 2013 in the newly named Dolby Theatre in Hollywood.

The other films on the short list are WAR WITCH by Kim Nguyen for Canada, NO by Pablo Larrain for Chile, THE INTOUCHABLES (INTOUCHABLE) by Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano for France, SISTER by Ursula Meier for Switzerland, THE DEEP by Baltasar Kormákur for Iceland, BEYOND THE HILLS by Cristian Mungiu for Romania and KON-TIKI by Joachim Rønning and Espen Sandberg for Norway.